Like everyone else, we are beginning to feel the effects of the economy here in our home so this year for Christmas I turned to my crafts to see what I could come up with that might qualify as something someone on my list might want and might actually be able to use! It didn’t take long for me to decide on making Quillows! Seven people on my list recieved Quillows from us this year!

The really neat thing about quillows is that you can theme them for the recipient. For example…my 2 year old grand daughter Jazi got a Dora the Explorer quillow, her sister Sayre got an Elmo Quillow, and Ash got an Elvis quillow! Some got coffee themed quillows, while others got victorian quillows!

Quillows are blankets (quilt type) that you can fold into a pillow for your bed or couch.

This is what a quillow looks like when it's folded up.
This is what a quillow looks like when it’s folded up.

 

This is the quillow unfolded....too cool that you can put your feet in that little pocket!

This is the quillow unfolded....too cool that you can put your feet in that little pocket!

 

These were hits during our Christmas this year! On the picture above….(the first one), you can see a tag that’s been attached to the quillow…..it is a quillow poem I found online that I printed and used as a gift tag….on the reverse side of the tag, I printed out folding instructions for those recieving the quillows.

So…in our home….I have mine, the one pictured, Ashley has hers (Elvis)……and Bryan’s birthday is next! I need to go shopping for some golf fabric……

Here are a couple really nice quillow site links to check out:

http://www.straw.com/quilting/articles/quillows.html

http://www.quillows.com/

http://www.craftbits.com/viewProject.do?projectID=235

Ok……so tell me…..,did you make anything for your gift giving list this year? I wanna hear about it! I’ll share more next Tuesday, but in the meantime…I’d love to hear from you if you made something for those on your gift giving list. OR!!!! Did you recieve something handmade this year?? I’d love to hear about that too!

Until tomorrow…….

 

