Wow….it’s been 12 days since I’ve posted an entry on my blog 😦 Bad blogger……bad bad blogger.

 

I’ve been cleaning my office space for the last 2 weeks and I am so thrilled I did. I finally have actual places for things I need to have at my finger tips, for running my business, for crafting and I can’t believe how clear minded I am when things are in order!

 

We just got our seed catalog in the mail last week and we are already designing our Square Foot Gardens for this year! Last year was our first attempt at Square Foot Gardening and thanks to Mel Bartholemew, author of  *Square Foot Gardening*……we be FARMIN’!!!! I had the priviledge of interviewing Mel on the Talk Radio broadcast I host and he was a wealth of information for all of our listeners! If you would like to listen to the broadcast, you can listen to it on demand here—->>>> http://www.talkshoe.com/tc/12797 You won’t be sorry! If you’ve ever considered growing a garden of your own, Mel takes a great deal of the work and frustration out of it for you!!! Be sure to visit his website at: http://www.squarefootgardening.com You’ll thank me later!

Last year we grew our own asparagus, corn, brocolli, peas, beans, carrots, spinach, cauliflower, cabbage, onnions, lettuce (several varieties), cilantro, rosemary, parsley, cucumbers, tomoatoes and canteloupe (which never matured 😦

The premise for a square foot garden is that you grow your crops in raised beds with Mels perfect soil recipe, which can be found on his site or in his book. The book is so worth having! We have it close by all the time!

Here are some pictures of our efforts last year. We will be adding two more raised beds this year too!

July 08'

July 08′

 

 

Ahhhhhh…seeing all that sunshine, almost makes me feel warm! Ok…I said almost!

 

We also love to spend time in our flower beds too, in fact, in the summer we practically live in our backyard! We put in a fire pit (that I don’t have a picture of yet, and we spend endless summer nights out there just relaxing and having really good conversation. It’s hard to being ourselves indoors when summer is in the Pacific Northwest!

A corner bed of Impatiens~ Love these!!!

A corner bed of Impatiens~ Love these!!!

Roses, Marigolds and Climatis! Ahhh....I can't wait!

 

 

 

Roses, Marigolds and Climatis! Ahhh....I can't wait!

July 08'~ See the corn!!

 

 

July 08'~ See the corn!!

Time to get our seed order put together and start mapping out our plans so we can be ready to plant when spring arrives….

In His Grip~

