This recipe is one that I’ve made for years for my family. It’s been awhile since I last made it though! I used to make it frequently when all four of my kiddos were home and our food budget needed to stretch with 3 teen boys in the house!

One of the reasons I am so fond of it is because it is a perfect *grab n’ go* food for those flying out the door for school and work! It’s healthy and probably most importantly…it passes the *picky tasters tests* with flying colors!

It’s loaded with fiber (I know because I add the flax seed!) 😉

Hawaiian Banana Bread with Pineapple and ground flax

Mini Loaves: Hawaiian Banana Bread with Pineapple and ground flax

Banana/Pineapple Bread with some added fiber:

  • 3 cups plain flour

  • 2 cups sugar

  • 1 tsp. baking soda

  • 1 tsp. cinnamon

  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg

  • 4 TBLS. ground flax seed

  • 1 cup chopped nuts (walnuts, pecans or macadamia)

  • 2 tsp. vanilla

  • 3 eggs, beaten

  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable oil (I use olive oil or coconut oil, whichever I have the most of)

  • 2 cups mashed bananas

  • 1 (8 oz.) can of crushed pineapple (well drained)

In a large bowl combine flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, flax and nutmeg; stir in nuts. Set aside.

Combine remaining ingredients in another mixing bowl; blend well. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and stir until just moist. Pour into greased and floured loaf pans. Bake at 350° for approximately 45 minutes if using the mini loaf pan and 90 minutes if using 2 regular bread loaf pans. Check center of loaf with toothpick (I use an uncooked spaghetti strand) and if it comes out clean, its done. Cool 10 minutes before removing from the pan.
Then hire armed guards to keep the loaves safe until it is time to eat.

Happy baking and oh yes…..happy eating too!

Always In His Grip~

