Cancer Awareness Color~Teal~Cervical Cancer

Cancer Awareness Color~Teal~Cervical Cancer

I mentioned last month that I had become a volunteer ChemAngel again and I am so thrilled that I did. Besides being a wife, mother and grandmother…..few things in my life have given me this deep sense of purpose and fullfillment! As ChemoAngels, we volunteer by adopting people who are going through the rigors and trauma of cancer…battling it with chemotherapy. Most of our chemo-buddies are in the final stages of cancer, homebound and need some cheering up. We send cards and small packages to them to provide some of that cheer and during this process our hearts become their’s!

I was fortunate enough to recieve a letter from my Chemo-buddy last week and it sent me over the moon! We never expect these people to write us back….it’s not a pen pal program. We understand this is a one way street, but occassionaly we do get to hear from our buddies or members of their family and it just makes it all the more real!

I became aware of the Cancer Awareness Ribbon Colors through my volunteer experience with Chemo-Angels. I didn’t realize it, but the American Cancer Society has given all cancers an awareness ribbon color of their own.

I am dissappointed the above picture didn’t turn out well, but it is the Cervical Cancer color, teal. I’ve made several cards for patients with their own cancer color. I’ve attached a poen to the front of the card called *Cancer Cannot* (see beow)

If you would like to become a volunteer ChemoAngel OR if you know someone who could benefit by having a ChemoAngel adopt them….please visit http://www.chemoangels.com

~ What Cancer Cannot Do ~

Cancer is limited
Cancer cannot cripple love
Cancer cannot shatter hope
Cancer cannot erode faith
Cancer cannot destroy peace
Cancer cannot kill friendship
Cancer cannot destroy memories
Cancer cannot silence courage
Cancer cannot invade the soul
Cancer cannot steal eternal life
Cancer cannot conquer the spirit
Cancer is limited…..

Auhor Unknown

Cancer Ribbon Colors

– lavender – general cancer awareness

– gold – childhood cancers

– white & teal stripe – teen cancer

– grey – brain cancer

– pink – breast cancer

– teal/white – cervical cancer

– brown – colon cancer

– royal blue – colon cancer

– kelly green – kidney cancer

– orange – leukemia

– clear – lung cancer

– lime green – lymphoma

– black – melanoma

– burgandy – multiple myeloma

– beige & burgandy – oral, head, & neck cancer

– teal – ovarian cancer

– purple – pancreatic cancer

– blue – prostate cancer

– bright yellow ā€“ sarcoma

– peach – uterine cancer

Ā 

Check out the ChemoAngel website….you’ll be glad you did šŸ™‚

In His Grip

