Creation Calls
 
by Brian Doerksen
 
I have felt the wind blow, whispering your name
I have seen your tears fall when I watch the rain
 
 
(chorus 1)
 
 
How could I say there is no God
When all around creation calls
A singing bird, a mighty tree
The vast expanse of open sea
Gazing at a bird in flight, soaring through the air
Lying down beneath the stars, I feel your presence there
 
 
(chorus 2)
 
 
I love to stand at ocean’s shore
And feel the thundering breakers roar
To walk through golden fields of grain
‘Neath endless blue horizon’s frame
Listening to a river run, watering the earth
Fragrance of a rose in bloom, a newborn’s cry at birth
 
 
(chorus 1)
 
 
 
How could I say there is no God
When all around creation calls
A singing bird, a mighty tree
The vast expanse of open sea
 
 
(chorus 2)
 
 
I love to stand at ocean’s shore
And feel the thundering breakers roar
To walk through golden fields of grain
‘Neath endless blue horizon’s frame
I believe, I believe, I believe ~
 
 
Just like a child.
 
 
�1994 Mercy / Vineyard Publishing

 

FOR TODAY: October 25, 2010

 

Outside my window… Grey skies….very grey skies….we just experienced our first winter storm here this weekend. It’s raining cats and dogs…..I know…imagine that in the Pacific Northwest….it’s so nice and cozy here in the house with the fire burning in the wood stove though! 

 

I am thinking… about some of the Christmas gifts I will be making.

 

I am thankful for…God’s infinite love for me and His mercy toward me. I am so thankful He chose me to live for such a time as this…..

 

I am remembering: the vast mercies that God has shown to me these last 3 years.

 

From the kitchen… Got the Pork Ribs in the crock pot and the house is smelling yumalicious! Is there anything better than baby back pigsicles with some rice and stir fried veggies? I dunno…..if you know of something….please don’t keep it to yourself….share with me!

 

I am wearing…Off white jeans and a pink sweatshirt….pink socks and brown scuffs….

 

I am creating…a monthly menu plan…..I love cooking and baking but sometimes I get into a rut and seem to fall back on things that are easy and well recieved…..when I have even a weak plan to keep me focused….I seem to turn out nicer meals.

 

Noticing that: Our wonderful Indian Summer has drawn to a close and winter is really here! Wow…..this fall has been one of the most beautiful here in Oregon that I can remember!

 

Pondering these words:  Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God, so that you may be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. Ephesians 6:10-12

  

I am going…to spend the next hour quietly reading and listening to the voice of the Lord…..He speaks when I pull out my ears.

  

I am reading…The Bible and a book by Francine Rivers titled *A Voice in the Wind* (thank you for loaning it to me Becky) >wink< I am now on chapter 6 of this book and it is starting to really grab me……

 

I am hoping…these ribs are done by the time Bryan gets home from work and Ashley comes out for dinner….tonight is our weekly date with our daughter and we all watch DWTS together….I know…it sounds silly but it’s one of our things…..tee hee

 

I am hearing… the rain pouring and the wind blowing!

 

Around the house…things are looking more life fall, I have my winter *project areas* spread out all around me and the ironing board is up….a sure sign that Christmas projects are in the works.

 

One of my favorite things…is still waking up to a nice warm fire in the wood stove when the mornings are brisk and chilly…thanks Bryan….you are such a blessing to me. 🙂

 

A few plans for the rest of the week: This week is wide open for me….with the exception of Thursday…I get to go to Lebanon and hang out with my youngest niece Angela…..I call her Gella…..she is SUCH a sweetheart!! I hear she got a new dirt bike and wants to show me all of her new tricks……be still my heart….

 

Here is picture for thought I am sharing…

 
 
 
 

 

Peace....be still......

 

 

 

 

Visit Peggy to join the group of women journaling with A simple Woman’s Daybook! 

 

Happy to know I am In His Grip~

