I vote this fall….my favorite fall of all…..yup!! For the last 4 or 5 years, I’ve been on a search for a really good, really creamy, really rich Pumpkin Fudge recipe. I’ve tried at least a dozen recipes that either failed the quality tests or just plain failed to become fudge!

 

I sounded the call last week and my sweet step mom came to my rescue! Thank you Rita for sharing this treasure of a recipe with me 🙂 My fudge recipe hunting days are over…..well…..that is….my Pumpkin Fudge Recipe hunting days are over…..now…….some Espresso Fudge…or Mocha…..or Cappaccino….something with a nice strong coffee/chocolate flavor……I’ll let you know if I strike it rich twice this fall ok!

 

This recipe is a real keeper!

 

Below are the qualities I like about it:

 

* Doesn’t take long to make

* Sets up beautifully

* Didn’t get hard and crumbly…at all…..this is a very nice, creamy fudge!

* The flavor is out of this world!! I did make one change in the recipe….not because I thought it would improve it but because I had some eggnog I needed to use up. I substituted eggnog for the milk and I think my husband fell in love with me all over again!!

Mama Reet’s Pumpkin Fudge~

 

Insulin...don't fail me now......

 

PUMPKIN FUDGE

3 cups. sugar

1 cup milk (I used eggnog and it worked beautifully!)

3 tbsp. light corn syrup

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Butter a square 8 x 8 pan

Mix together sugar, milk, corn syrup,  pumpkin and salt in a large pot. Stir constantly on medium high heat until it comes to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and continue boiling but stop stirring. When it gets to the soft-ball stage, remove it from the heat.

Add the pumpkin pie spice, vanilla, butter and nuts.  Beat the mix until it thickens and loses some of its gloss.  Pour into the greased baking dish.  when it has cooled a bit, cut into squares!

Contentedly In His Grip~

