BAKED ZITI

1 pound ziti pasta

1 pound of lean ground beef

1 pound of Italian sausage (I added that)

1 onion chopped

2 jars of spaghetti sauce

1 1/2 cups sour cream

6 oz provolone cheese slices (can use a little more)

8 oz of shredded mozzarella cheese

Parmesan cheese

(OK…..I added 1/4 cup of Merlot to this recipe! It was wonderful!)

Cook noodles for 8 minutes or al dente. Butter the bottom of a 9 X 13 pan ( I use a 10 X 14 and it is stuffed full). Cook meat and onion over medium heat until brown. Drain meat. Add spaghetti sauce to meat and simmer for 15 minutes…..after simmiering….you can add a wee little bit o’ red wine if you’d like…. (I add some garlic too). Heat oven to 350. Layer 1/2 of the pasta in the pan. Then add 1/2 of the meat sauce. cover with the provolone slices and then the sour cream. Add the rest of the pasta, add the mozzarella cheese and then add the rest of the meat sauce. Top with Parmesan cheese. Cover and cook for 35 minutes or until bubbly.

If you make ahead and refrigerate you need to cook for at least 70 minutes.

A great Big Hat Tip and THANK-YOU to my cousin Tracy for sharing this jewel with me!!! We loved it!

Tip…..This makes a HUGE batch of Ziti…..

I baked it in a 11×14 in. pan. We had a lot of it leftover…fortunately…Italian food gets better as the days go by >smile< I was able to get 4 extra meals put up in my Seal A Meal for future dinners!

