Happy Valentine’s Day Everyone!!

  

This is one of my favorite holidays…..I love how it provides me an opportunity to tell the special people in my life how much I love and appreciate them! I know I shouldn’t need a day or a reason to do that….but…..I rely on this day for that! 🙂

  

Many thanks to the people who earned cards from my last post about Valentine’s Cards…..I had 6 winners and each of them got to select a person for me to send a valentine card to in their name…..thanks for playing gang! I love playing games like that online and it helps break up the monotony of winter for me!

  

A poem for my SPECIAL Valentine:

  

Our Romance~  

 

Twas the night before Sunday
When all through the bar
Oregonians were dancing
Some near, some far
 
 
 When what to my wandering eyes should appear
A handsome young Oregonian
Buying a beer
 
  

 

Our love story started
Right there, right then
Joy Unexplainable
Least not by pen

 

If I had your attention
For a lifetime or so
I could tell you about the man
I’ve come to know

 

He is the best husband
Now the best dad
I am living the life
I wish all could have

 

Years later
We stroll hand in hand
Thanking the Lord
For His Perfect Plan

 

  

Special thanks today to my friend Steve Mitzel for sharing his Pineapple Cake recipe with me 🙂 I made it today for my very own Valentine…Bryan…..I know Bryan will love this cake!!!! Steve *coached* me through the making of this cake by providing me with a few of his tips…..

  

1) Make SURE the eggs are room temp……check 🙂

2) Do NOT use a hand mixer for this recipe…..it will add too much air into the batter and could end up a disaster…..check 🙂

3) Make this cake with LOT’S of love!!!! It tastes better that way…….check 🙂

4) Enjoy!!!

  

STEVE’S PINEAPPLE CAKE

  



2 large eggs @ room temperature

20 ounce can crushed pineapple with juice

2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 cup chopped walnuts

In a large mixing bowl beat the two eggs until they are light and fluffy. Then add the crushed pineapple with juice and the flour, sugars, and baking soda. Mix these ingredients well with a spoon not an electric mixer, as too much air will get in the cake and it will fall. Then stir in the chopped walnuts when you are sure all the brown sugar is dissolved and blended. Finally pour the batter into an un-greased 13x9x2 inch pan and bake at 350 degrees for 45 or 50 minutes, check with clean toothpick for doneness. Let cool completely then frost with cream cheese ginger frosting and top with some additional chopped walnuts.

CREAM CHEESE GINGER FROSTING

3 ounce package softened cream cheese

1/4 cup of unsalted sweet cream butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups powdered sugar

1/8 teaspoon ground ginger

In a small mixing bowl beat together the cream cheese, the butter, and the vanilla. Then has a nice smooth consistency gradually add the powdered sugar and ground ginger. Continue mixing until the frosting has a nice smooth consistency.

Happily In His Grip~

 

