FOR TODAY: January 15, 2012 

Outside my window…It’s snowing! This is our first snow this winter! We woke up this morning to our winter wonderland and it’s been snowing on and off all day long. It never lasts long here in the Willamette Valley, Oregon but we sure enjoy it when it does. 

 

I am thinking…About Tuesday when my friend Sheri comes over to papercraft with me. We will probably be making Valentines Cards…on fo my favorite holidays for cardmaking. 

I am thankful for… God’s infinite love for me and His mercy toward me. I am so thankful He chose me to live for such a time as this…..

I am remembering…. the vast mercies that God has shown to me these last 5 years.

From the kitchen…Today I made Bryan his favorite cookies….Oatmeal Raisin Cinnamon! Somehow….it worked with the snow falling outside and the smell of those yummy things inside….no really….it realllly worked! 🙂

I am wearing….Mom jeans, red turtleneck sweater, and my new black Christmas slippers….. 

I am creating….new habits 🙂 Practicing gratitude throughout the year and I am also quilting right now…tis the season for indoor projects. 

Noticing that….After leaving facebook…..my spirit has quieted immensely! I can hear Him while reading His word….my thoughts are not nearly as distracted…..I am really enjoying this calm. 

Pondering these words…  Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God, so that you may be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. Ephesians 6:10-12

I am going…to spend this evening quietly reading and listening to the voice of the Lord…..He speaks when I pull out my ears.

I am reading…The Bible and a book by John MacArthur titled *How To Survive In a World of Unbelief* 

I am hoping… secretly hoping….the snow keeps up. I know it’s not safe to drive in and we here in the Willamette Valley aren’t experienced snow drivers….but…but…but…..it’s just so pretty!

I am hearing…silence…. 

Around the house…I have my winter projects in full swing…my pile of books I want to read before spring arrives and the garden calls me outdoors….. 

One of my favorite things…..is still waking up to a nice warm fire in the wood stove when the mornings are brisk and chilly…thanks Bryan….you are such a blessing to me..:)

 

A few plans for the rest of the week…..This week is wide open for me with the exception of Tuesday, when Sheri will come and we will make Valentine Cards together…..I will fill my time with books and quilting. 

Here is picture for thought I am sharing…

 

 

 
 
 
 Peace….be still……
 
 
My 1000 gifts 2012:
 
5) Snow…yes…I am thankful for snow…..:)
6) Warm fires in our woodstove.
7) The ability to read….
8) Goods books to read.
9) Quilts, Quilting….
10) This computer
11) Seasons
12) Rest

 Visit Peggy to join the group of women journaling with A simple Woman’s Daybook! 

Happy to know I am In His Grip~

